Warlock 2 Renaissance Mod – The Warlock 3 we’ll probably never get!

Visitors to my Master of Magic webpage will see in the similar games section that I played the similar Warlock 1 – Master of the Arcane a few years back and quite enjoyed it. It’s clearly MoM inspired but uses a Civ5 style world map without tactical zoomed in combat, and uses a Civ6 style city buildings on the map system. What made it very fun was it’s MoM and Civ2 Test of Time multiple linked world maps system in that while there’s a Myrror like dark world there’s also lots of other mini elemental plane worlds to visit too. Realising they were on to something good the studio were fast to do a Warlock 2 – The Exiled sequel that pushed the multi world system even further. However it was met with poor reviews due to bugs, bad AI, lack of depth and other issues so I never bothered to try it out. However the guys over in the MoM Discord group I run informed me of an awesome total conversion fan project that fixes the bugs, and bad AI and adds a HUUUUUGE amount of extra content (races, wizards, heroes, units, spells, buildings etc) known as The Renaissance mod. I watched the below youtube let’s play series on it and was super impressed. The modders have essentially labelled it the Warlock 3 we never got and they’re probably right as this thing is epic in size. So I think I’ll be buying Warlock 2 after all now haha!

Warlock 2: https://store.steampowered.com/app/205990/Warlock_2_The_Exiled/
Renaissance Mod: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=493257789

Leave a comment